Skip links

Psychology in the Laurentians

You wish to consult a psychologist in the Laurentians? Our rehabilitation clinic, situated in Mirabel, allows you to access the expertise of a psychologist specialized in health psychology.

Listen, assess and help

The psychologist specializes in the behavioural, emotional and mental health. They assess the psychological affects and mental health that will allow them to determine which intervention or treatment will best help their client. The psychologist can also apply interventions and treatments like psychotherapy.

What is psychotherapy?

Psychotherapy aims to ease the suffering or psychological problems. This treatment is addressed to any person wishing to bring about significant changes in their lives for the well-bring. There are a variety of motives to consult :

  • Behavioural, emotional or habit changes
  • Making difficult decisions
  • Looking for the answers to personal questions
  • To better the understanding or management of difficult situations

Psychotherapy requires an active participation. It requires an open mind and a willingness to reveal.

Psychological health, what is it?

In psychological health, the psychologist is interested in the behaviours and lifestyle habits that affect the person's physical and psychological health. Their interventions aim to improve the person's ability to psychologically adapt to their physical health problems and all the changes these problems can bring about.

A brain injury, chronic pain, surgeries, acute or chronic disease are only some of the examples of physical health problems that could be the reason for consulting a psychologist.

A psychologist interrogates a client and is taking notes

Consulting a psychologist can target several objectives, such as :

  • To improve self awareness and commitment to medical/professional treatments
  • To reduce psychological distress
  • To accompany a person in their progress towards accepting their physical condition, during their mourning processes and the changes their condition requires
  • To treat the associated psychological symptoms ( anxiety, depression, post-traumatique stress, etc.)

The psychologist collaborates with the other health care profesionnals in order to support the person's rehabilitation objectives.

Reserve your consultation in psychology in the Laurentians

Our offices are situated in Mirabel, on the north shore!

A recognized expertise

Dre. Vanessa Debien, Psy.D., obtained her doctorat degree in psychology from the University of Quebec in Montreal and is a membre of Quebec's Psychology Order since 2020. She specializes in the assessment and intervention of individuals who suffer from a psychological difficulty adapting to a physical health condition..

Dre Debien completed her clinical training at l'USMM's department of psychiatry with individuals suffering from anxiety, mood and personality disorders.

She then practiced psychological health for a few years at the Saint-Jérôme regional hospital, in the department of physical rehabilitation. There she worked with individuals suffering from chronic pain and those who had had bariatric surgeries. She also worked with individuals who had a difficult hospitalization or who suffered difficulties adapting to disease (oncology, diabetes, stroke, rare or orphan diseases, etc)

Before becoming a psychologist, Dre Vanessa Debien worked for a few years as a consultant in mental health one on one or in group settings in a community center, especially with individuals who are suicidal, anxious, depressed or bipolar.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.

Skip links

Psychologie dans les Laurentides

Vous souhaitez obtenir une consultation en psychologie dans les Laurentides? Notre clinique de réadaptation située à Mirabel vous permet d’accéder à l’expertise d’une psychologue spécialisée en psychologie de la santé.

Écouter, évaluer et aider

Le psychologue se spécialise dans le comportement, les émotions et la santé mentale. Il évalue le fonctionnement psychologique et la santé mentale afin de déterminer les interventions ou les traitements qui pourraient aider son client. Le psychologue peut aussi mettre en œuvre des interventions ou traitements, comme la psychothérapie.

Qu’est-ce la psychothérapie?

La psychothérapie vise à atténuer les souffrances ou les difficultés psychologiques. Ce traitement s’adresse à toute personne désirant apporter des changements significatifs dans sa vie pour améliorer son bien-être. Les motifs de consultation sont variés:

  • Changement de comportements, d’émotions ou d’habitudes
  • Prise de décisions difficiles
  • Recherche de réponses à des questions personnelles
  • Meilleure compréhension ou gestion des situations éprouvantes

La psychothérapie requiert une participation active. Elle implique une ouverture de la part du client et une volonté de se dévoiler.

La psychologie de la santé, de quoi s’agit-il?

En psychologie de la santé, le psychologue s’intéresse plus spécifiquement aux comportements et aux styles de vie qui affectent la santé physique et psychologique des gens. Ses interventions ont pour but de favoriser l’adaptation psychologique du client face à sa condition de santé physique et aux changements que celle-ci entraine.

Le trauma crânien, la douleur chronique, les chirurgies, les maladies aigües ou chroniques ne sont que quelques exemples des conditions de santé physique qui peuvent faire l’objet d’une demande de suivi psychologique.

Psychologue qui interroge une cliente et qui prend des notes

La démarche en psychologie de la santé peut viser de nombreux objectifs, comme :

  • Améliorer la connaissance de soi et l’adhérence aux traitements médicaux/professionnels
  • Diminuer la détresse psychologique
  • Évoluer dans l’acceptation de sa condition de santé, dans les deuils et changements qu’elle entraîne
  • Traiter les symptômes psychologiques associés (anxiété, dépression, stress post-traumatique, etc.)

Le psychologue travaille en collaboration avec les autres professionnels de la santé afin de soutenir la personne dans l’atteinte de ses objectifs de réadaptation.

Réservez votre consultation en psychologie dans les Laurentides

Nos bureaux sont situés à Mirabel, sur la Rive-Nord!

Une expertise reconnue

Dre Vanessa Debien, Psy.D., est titulaire d’un doctorat en psychologie de l’Université du Québec à Montréal et est membre de l’Ordre des Psychologues du Québec depuis 2020. Elle se spécialise dans l’évaluation et l’accompagnement des personnes qui éprouvent des difficultés d’adaptation psychologique face à une condition de santé physique.

Dre Debien a complété sa formation clinique au département de psychiatrie de l’IUSMM auprès de personnes souffrant de troubles anxieux, de l’humeur et de la personnalité.

Elle a ensuite pratiqué la psychologie de la santé pendant quelques années au département de réadaptation physique de l’Hôpital Régional de Saint-Jérôme. Elle a alors travaillé auprès de personnes souffrant de douleur chronique et de personnes ayant eu une chirurgie bariatrique. Elle a également oeuvré auprès de patients vivant une hospitalisation difficile, ou éprouvant des difficultés d’adaptation face à une maladie (oncologie, diabète, AVC, maladies rares et/ou orphelines, etc.).

Avant d’être psychologue, Dre Vanessa Debien a travaillé pendant quelques années comme intervenante en santé mentale en individuel et en groupe dans le milieu communautaire, notamment auprès de personnes vivant une situation de crise suicidaire, ainsi que de personnes aux prises avec des troubles anxieux, dépressifs ou bipolaires.

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.